Parish History

The modern day R.C. Parish of Kildorrery is made up of 6 medieval parishes called:

While these are still Civil Parishes they have been in the Kildorrery R.C. Union since parishrecord keeping began so records for all are in one collection but this is where census records and parish differ as the census uses the civil parishes listed above except Aghacross, Carraigdownane and the Townlands of St. Nathlash have been included in Derryvillane.

These parishes are also the reason why we have 6 graveyards in the parish today as each one belonged to its own little medieval parish.

The Civil Parishes are broken down into Townlands which are based on an ancient administration system and they still exist today.

The Townlands are most often the key to identifying your ancestors if they came from a rural area as they are listed in the church records in Baptisms and Marriages. They can also be the key to locating a homestead.


Kildorrery has a total of 34 Townlands of varying size (shown in acres):

  • Aghacross (355)
  • Ballinguyroe North (830)
  • Ballinguyroe South (339)
  • Ballinahalisk (533)
  • Ballynoe (326)
  • Ballyshonack (326)
  • Ballyshurdane (381)
  • Ballyvisteen (387)
  • Ballyvoddy (353)
  • Boleynanoultagh (590)
  • Carhoo (97)
  • Carraigdownane Lower (310)
  • Carraigdownane Upper (302)
  • Cullenagh (365)
  • Farahy (1130)
  • Glasvaunta (91)
  • Gortacurrig (323)
  • Graigue (559)
  • Kilclooney (780)
  • Kildorrery (110)
  • Kilmaculla (67)
  • Knockanevin (534)
  • Labbamolaga East (409)
  • Labbamolaga Middle (445)
  • Labbamolaga West (343)
  • Meadstown (493)
  • Oldcastletown (881)
  • Quitrent Mountain (1197)
  • Ransborough (138)
  • Scart (494)
  • Shraharla (379)
  • Springvale (237)
  • Tankardstown (601)
  • Tooreigh (267)


St. Mologga's Church

St. Mologga's R.C Church in Shraharla was built in 1839 at the same time as St. Batholomew's Church in Kildorrery. This church still bears witness to the Irish War of Independence when British Forces hit it in a gun battle with the I.R.A. Bullet marks are still visible on the outside of the nave.

Shraharla Republican Monument

The Shraharla Republican Monument was unveiled in 1924 in a ceremony attended by many prominent republicans including Dan Breen. The monument commemorates six I.R.A. volunteers who lost their lives in the Irish Was of Independence in May 1921.

Shraharla Monument Facebook Page

Unveiling of Shraharla Monument in 1925. Pictured to the front is Seán Carroll TD (Limerick Constituency). Photo credit: Finbarr Connolly

Photo credit: Jimmy Hennessy

Shraharla Republican Monument Centenary Commemoration in 2021

13 May 2021

Saturday, May 1st saw the centenary commemoration of the Shraharla ambush, when four Irish men lost their lives fighting for Irish independence. Capt James Horan, Capt Pat Starr and Lieut Tim Hennessy died at Shraharla, while Capt Patrick Casey was executed in Cork the following day.

The significant date was marked in a small ceremony by the Shraharla Monument Restoration and Commemoration Committee. Led by flagbearer Mr Pat Slyne, the committee walked the small distance from Shraharla Church to the monument where Mr. Michael McEldowney raised the tricolour over the monument.

Mr. Eamonn McCarthy then invited Mr Micheál Ó Aonghusa to lay a wreath, before Mrs Kitty Pyne led those present in a decade of the Rosary.


Following this, the committee walked to the nearby Bourke’s Cross, where a wreath was laid for May Bourke, an extraordinary lady who worked as a spy during the War of Independence.

While current restrictions did not allow us to celebrate as we would have wished, there was a huge amount of support for the project by the local community and beyond. The date for the full commemoration has now been set as Sunday, September 5th 2021 - further details to follow in TheAvondhu.

We would like to thank most sincerely all those who contributed in any way to the restoration and the ceremony. It is most gratifying to know that the sacrifices of these men are still remembered and honoured today.

Committee members meet, socially distanced, on Saturday, May 1st 2021, to mark the centenary of the Shraharla ambush. Pictured, back l-r: Eamonn McCarthy, Donal Curtin, Pat Slyne, John Hennessy, Tom Downey and Michael McEldowney; front l-r: Paul Walsh and Dermot Casey.

Peter O'Neill Crowley

Peter O'Neill Crowley was a Fenian leader in the uprising of 1867. He was mortally wounded in an encounter with the Crown Forces in Kilclooney Wood.

A monument was first erected to him there in 1898, which was replaced in 1930. A new viewing station was erected on the roadside and officially unveiled in the summer of 2013.

To the left of the standing slab at the viewing station, one can just about see the Celtic Cross to Peter O’Neil Crowley, on the little hill in the distance.


Rockmills was once the largest village in the area because of its flourmill. Following a succession of owners the flourmill closed around 1900 and the village gradually lost its population.

More historical details and photos here
Saint Nathlash Church of Ireland in Rockmills was built in 1823 and was razed to the ground in 1899 and all that remains today is its steeple. The parents of Dr. John O'Brien, Bishop of Cloyne and Ross (1746-69) are buried in the adjoining graveyard. Dr. O'Brien wrote the first Irish-English dictionary, which was published in 1768.

Point To Point Races

Kildorrery's annual Point To Point races are held in Rockmills every February.

Check their FB site here for updates.

Visit the Irish Point to Point website here.